The World is a Book!

I read a quotation today;

“The World is a Book, and those who don’t travel read only a page” – Saint Augustine

I have never looked at travelling from this perspective, but as soon as I read it, it made perfect sense. 

Just as some people are very fast readers, throwing themselves into a book, getting to the end as quickly as they can, some people look at travelling in the same way. Some of my friends have saved up money and spent it all on travelling to as many countries as they possibly can, focussing only on their wanderlust, but perhaps forgetting about the other important things in life, such as friends, family and career prospects.

Then there are some people don’t read at all, just as some people never travel far from their hometown. 

There are also people who enjoy reading, but they are slower and have other responsibilities/ priorities that can sometimes get in the way, but they will always pick up the book as often as they can. Applying this theory to travelling, I would say that I fit into this group of people. I love to travel, I’m always adding places onto my bucket list, and I am always reading blogs and articles about the places I’d love to visit, but unfortunately for me, I have other things I need to pay for, so money is unfortunately a problem. I have limited annual leave in my job and I have my partner to think about too, so I can’t just throw myself (or ourselves) into travelling, even if that’s what I long to do. So here I am, reading the world at my own  pace… But they do say that slow and steady wins the race 😉

Happy Travels (Happy Reading – if you like),

Jasmine

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

